Day 3

Hallelujah! A full night of uninterrupted sleep! I set my alarm for 7am so I could have time to eat a protein snack before yoga. The whole house was still asleep when I got up, ate a hard-boiled egg and went to a lovely class led by the gifted Krista Mason.
I was pretty hungry when I got home and was delighted to find Marcus had made coffee and was cooking up omelets with lamb sausage, red bell peppers and spinach. I ate mine with a power greens, tomato and avocado salad and was quite satisfied!
We spent the morning running errands, including a trip to Costco for more eggs, berries, avocado oil and organic meats. I was excited to also find these pre-cooked whole beets

20140104-150540.jpg Which will be a time saver! I do know I am spending larger amounts of time in the kitchen with this diet, which so far I don’t mind, but it could get old.
I am also still trying to figure out if the Whole30 is a wash economically, speaking. We are definitely spending more money on organic meat and larger quantities of meat, eggs, and produce. Nuts and high quality oils are also expensive. But we are not buying dairy in the same amounts (and since organic milk is nearly $7 a gallon, that helps) and no processed or prepared foods which can be expensive. So we’ll have to see.
Lunch was a little disappointing. I roasted Brussel sprouts with a little olive oil, s&p and they smelled revolting while they were cooking, but they didn’t taste bad. Marcus said they are better cooked in butter and bacon, and I have to agree. I poached some wild-caught frozen cod in tomatoes and olives with a little fresh basil on top. It was Ok, but frozen fish just isn’t as good as fresh.

20140104-133623.jpg
The afternoon sugar craving was in full effect today, so I had a few dried apricots, which seemed to do the trick.
This arrived in the mail today–coconut aminos.

20140104-151553.jpg
I ordered it from Amazon and it’s supposed to be a lower salt, no sugar, no soy substitute for soy sauce. It tastes pretty much like it, and should work in cooking. Not sure I would want to eat it straight, though.
Dinner tonight was turkey/beef meatballs in tomato sauce over spaghetti squash with broccoli on the side. I am not a huge pasta fan anyway, so the squash was an adequate substitute, in my opinion.

20140104-192741.jpg

Leave a comment